Medicare Supplement Plans for Disabled Under 65 is available in some areas. Each state has a different set of rules to follow.
The United States population consists of roughly 8.4% of people with disabilities. The Medicare world consists of nearly double that percentage.
If you aren’t 65, you’ll have two different Medicare Supplement Open Enrollment Periods (OEP).
- The start of Part B
- When you turn 65 years old
Below are the states that offer Disability for beneficiaries under 65 years old.
State Rules for Medicare Supplement Plans for Disabled Under 65
California – If you are already receiving Social security Disability benefits, you’ll qualify for both Parts A and B. Plan F is available for disability recipients. Premiums may come at a premium cost, and often can be very pricey.
Connecticut – Recipients younger than 65 years old can get Medigap plans for the same costs as those 65 and older. Companies must offer one policy to those on disability. Monthly fees are the same for everybody.
Delaware – Delaware requires companies to offer Supplementals to those under 65. Also, requiring companies to provide a plan for those with End-Stage Renal Disease. Plan A is the policy, but it comes with a high price tag.
Florida – If on Social Security Disability benefits for 24 months, there is automatic into Part A and B. After automatic enrollment, beneficiaries can enroll in a Supplement. However, the premium is usually higher if under 65.
Georgia – Insurance carriers in Georgia must offer policies to those under 65 years old if they’re on Medicare. Again, Beneficiaries may face high premiums if buying a plan before 65.
Illinois – Per Illinois state law, carriers must offer Medigap plans to those under 65. Beneficiaries are eligible for GI rights, ensuring that companies can’t charge higher premiums.
Kansas – Kansas state laws mandate companies to offer at least one option to those under 65 on disability or have End-Stage Renal Disease. Beneficiaries will not face higher premiums if they’re under 65 and on disability.
Kentucky – Kentucky doesn’t require carriers to sell Medigap plans to those under 65. Carriers that choose to sell policies to people under 65 can charge more.
Louisiana – Companies must offer Supplement insurance in Louisiana. These companies honor the OEP for the first six months. Part B comes into effect. Those on disability qualify after 24 months of Social Security benefits.
Maine – Residents of Maine under 65 can obtain a Supplement plan. These recipients will qualify for GI.
Maryland – Maryland requires companies to provide Plans A and C to beneficiaries under 65; however, they could pay higher premiums.
Massachusetts – Insurance carriers in Massachusetts have to offer at least one option for Supplemental plans.
Minnesota – Minnesota residents under 65 and on disability can purchase a Supplement. Also, they pay the same amount as those over 65. Companies must offer at least one plan option.
Mississippi – the Mississippi state law, requires carriers to offer one plan to Recipients under 65, and its commonly Plan A. Beneficiaries will have higher monthly costs with Plan A.
Missouri – The state of Missouri requires companies to offer a one Supplement plan to those on disability and under 65. These people will pay higher premiums.
Montana – In the state of Montana, those under 65 pay more for supplemental coverage than those 65 and over.
New Hampshire – New Hampshire residents can get Supplemental insurance if under 65 on disability. The state requires carriers to offer one plan, and the premiums must be equal across the board during OEP.
New Jersey – The state of New Jersey must offer at least one plan option and may charge higher premiums if the beneficiary is under 65 years old.
New York – New York state must offer one plan but usually comes with a high cost to the beneficiary.
North Carolina – Per state law, North Carolina must offer both plans A and F. There are higher premiums with both options, the cost of those plans after 65 will drop.
Oklahoma – Insurance companies must offer plan A to those on disability and under 65. Plan A comes with a steep premium cost, however.
Oregon – Insurance carriers must sell plans for recipients but can charge a high premium. There may be some localities that offer Special Needs Plans, which can be beneficial for individuals with specific disabilities.
Pennsylvania – Pennsylvania requires carriers to offer Supplement plans but can charge higher premiums that premiums sold to those over 65.
South Dakota – South Dakota residents, may buy a Supplement plan before turning 65. If on disability, you can expect a higher premium each month. However, there may a Medicare Advantage Special Needs available.
Tennessee – The state of Tennessee requires companies to offer one plan. They can charge high prices to obtain it, if under 65 years old.
Texas – Companies need to offer at least one plan option to those under 65 but can charge more for premiums.
Wisconsin – Companies must offer at least one plan to those on disability under 65; but, they can charge much more for the costs.
How to Enroll if Disabled and Under 65
Medicare Supplement Plans for Disabled Under 65 is available in some states.
Individuals who obtain Social Security Disability benefits receive a card via mail for Medicare. Another option is to reach out to your local Social Security office.
Call our team of agents for all questions regarding your Medicare coverage. No matter which state you reside in, our agents are here to help you.
To obtain a competitive rate today, call us at the number above or fill out our online form.